Club History

The Dargaville Amateur Swimming club Inc. was formed over 85 years ago and became an Incorporated Society in 1962.

At this time the Club took over some of the caretaking of the pool for the borough council and at the time in 2008 when this pool closed was totaling running the complex.

Hardworking committees over the years have given many hours of volunteer labour and raised funds to extend the length of the pool from 22 yds. to 36 2/3 yds., install afiltration plant, learners pool, covered stands, club house, new changing rooms, an office, and also solar panels.

The club has been fortunate to have excellent coaches over the years starting with Mrs Wyn Harris(Bradley) taking Learn to Swim then Janet Frogratt, Squad coaches – Mr MFitchett, Mr A Peden, Mr Vern Stevens, Lucy Heller, Gordon Lambeth, Leesa House,Glen Smith ,Sam Taylor and currently Cara Hutchinson – a ex Northland swimmer.

The club also had a thriving volunteer swimming service with Mrs J Frogratt  being a good example of this – giving of her time coaching.  The club has always produced top swimmers winning medals at the Auckland Champs and Harbour swimsand in later years Northland records with some swimmers competing at National Levels.

In its heyday the club had up to 150 swimmers but in recent years this has dropped to around 50 swimmers.  Hopefully with the new pool the club will start to grow again.